Wednesday, January 4, 2012

Award Winning Folktales

Every January the American Library Association announces the winner of the Caldecott Medal. This is “awarded to the artist of the most distinguished American Picture Book for Children published in the United States during the preceding year.” Since 1938, stories based on folktales, folklore, legends and nursery rhymes have won 24 times.

Here is the list of Caldecott Medal Winners from the American Library Association website.

The Lion & the Mouse by Jerry Pinkney
The Three Pigs by David Wiesner
Joseph Had a Little Overcoat by Simms Taback
Rapunzel by Paul O. Zelinsky
Golem by David Wisniewski
Lon Po Po: A Red-Riding Hood Story from China by Ed Young
Saint George and the Dragon, illustrated by Trina Schart Hyman; text: retold by Margaret Hodges
Fables by Arnold Lobel
Ashanti to Zulu: African Traditions , illustrated by Leo & Diane Dillon; text: Margaret Musgrove
Why Mosquitoes Buzz in People's Ears , illustrated by Leo & Diane Dillon; text: retold by Verna Aardema
Arrow to the Sun by Gerald McDermott
Duffy and the Devil , illustrated by Margot Zemach; retold by Harve Zemach
The Funny Little Woman , illustrated by Blair Lent; text: retold by Arlene Mosel
One Fine Day , retold and illustrated by Nonny Hogrogian
A Story A Story , retold and illustrated by Gail E. Haley
The Fool of the World and the Flying Ship , illustrated by Uri Shulevitz; text: retold by Arthur Ransome
Drummer Hoff , illustrated by Ed Emberley; text: adapted by Barbara Emberley
Always Room for One More , illustrated by Nonny Hogrogian; text: Sorche Nic Leodhas, pseud. [Leclair Alger]
Once a Mouse , retold and illustrated by Marcia Brown
Chanticleer and the Fox , illustrated by Barbara Cooney; text: adapted from Chaucer's Canterbury Tales by Barbara Cooney
Frog Went A-Courtin' , illustrated by Feodor Rojankovsky; text: retold by John Langstaff)
Cinderella, or the Little Glass Slipper , illustrated by Marcia Brown; text: translated from Charles Perrault by Marcia Brown
The Rooster Crows by Maud & Miska Petersham

You can find the complete list of winners and Honor awards at

No comments:

Post a Comment