Friday, August 7, 2015

20 Years of Caldecott Award Winners 1995-2015

Looking for quality picture books?  A simple way to narrow your search is to take a look at the Caldecott winners from this year and years past.  Not all kids will be attracted to all books, so even with a great list like this, use your judgment and knowledge of your child while choosing!   
The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children. -ALA

2015: The Adventures of Beekle: The Unimaginary Friend by Dan Santat

  • 2014: Locomotive by Brian Floca 

  • 2013: This Is Not My Hat by Jon Klassen

  • 2012: A Ball for Daisy by Chris Raschka

  • 2011: A Sick Day for Amos McGee by Philip C. Stead

  • 2010: The Lion & the Mouse by Jerry Pinkney

  • 2009:  The House in the Night by Susan Marie Swanson

  • 2008: The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick

  • 2007: Flotsam by David Wiesner 

  • 2006: The Hello, Goodbye Window by Norton Juster

  • 2005: Kitten's First Full Moon by Kevin Henkes 

  • 2004: The Man Who Walked Between the Towers by Mordicai Gerstein

  • 2003: My Friend Rabbit by Eric Rohmann

  • 2002: The Three Pigs by David Wiesner


  • 2001: So You Want to Be President? by Judith St. George

  • 2000: Joseph Had a Little Overcoat by Simms Taback

  • 1999: Snowflake Bentley by Jacqueline Briggs Martin

  • 1998: Rapunzel by Paul O. Zelinsky
  • 1997: Golem by David Wisniewski

  • 1996: Officer Buckle and Gloria by Peggy Rathmann

  • 1995: Smoky Night by Eve Bunting

  • No comments:

    Post a Comment